This page was last updated on: 6/3/2011
PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE
(A Jordan La Fontaine Legal Thriller)
by R. Barri Flowers

It is five years before the millennium and Multnomah County Deputy District Attorney Jordan La Fontaine is in line to be the next Chief of the Homicide Division Bureau. But Jordan’s world turns upside down when her teenage son is accused of a double homicide and her competition for the post, Jerrod Wresler, is assigned to prosecute the case. She enlists the services of Simon McNeil, her late husband’s law partner, to defend him.

At the same time, Jordan is preparing to try a decorated Portland police detective, Graham Turner, accused of viciously murdering his ex-wife. Causing Jordan further grief is Turner’s hardnosed partner, Detective Harry Coleman, who will stop at nothing to prove his innocence.

As Jordan moves back and forth between the two tough cases and deals with issues in her personal life, she must use all her resources to clear her son’s name and convict a cop of murder.
JUSTICE SERVED
(A Barkley and Parker Thriller)
by R. Barri Flowers

Male batterers of women are being beaten to death by a bat-wielding female vigilante. Each victim had recently been on trial for domestic violence-related charges, but was set free through plea bargains, technicalities, or acquittal.

Two Portland Police Bureau Detectives--Sergeant Ray Barkley and his partner Detective Nina Parker--investigate the killings. Among the list of suspects is Criminal Court Judge Carole Cranston, who presided over the trials of all the victims and has dark secrets she is in no hurry to share.

Barkley quickly develops an attraction to the beautiful Carole, and vice versa, even as the case heats up and more signs begin to point toward Carole as the serial killer the press has dubbed The Vigilante Batterer Killer.

Nina, who had a brief affair with Barkley, is determined to prove Carole is the killer. But is she?

As the body count rises, no one seems safe. That includes Barkley, who is targeted by the killer. Can he survive? Or will he be forced to take his turn at bat?

STATE'S EVIDENCE
(A Beverly Mendoza Legal Thriller)
by R. Barri Flowers

Assistant District Attorney Beverly Mendoza appears to have an open and shut case when she prosecutes Rafael Santiago for the murder of a judge and the sexual assault of his wife in Eagles Landing, a town in Northern California. Santiago was recently released from prison and had a grudge against the judge. But her case against the suspect is put in jeopardy when career criminal Manuel Gonzalez, arrested for the murder of a young woman, also confesses to killing the judge.

As Beverly and Wilameta County Sheriff’s Homicide Detective Stone Palmer try to sort out fact from fiction, a case of mistaken identity becomes a real possibility. Or is it more likely that two violent men with close ties are trying to beat the system?

Further complicating matters is Beverly’s romantic involvement with criminal lawyer turned judge, Grant Nunez, in an apparent conflict of interest. She also battles personal crises, including a father with Alzheimer’s disease.

REVIEWS OF STATE'S EVIDENCE


"Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page. He has filled the novel with believable characters and situations."  -- Midwest Book Review

"This legal thriller will have you on the edge of your seats. The court room scenes are unforgettable and very believable.... The author gets into the mind of the criminals and you'll feel privileged to information that the other characters don't know. State's Evidence is a must have for any fan of suspense books." -- Shades of Romance Magazine

"R. Barri Flowers's book STATE'S EVIDENCE is a well-written thriller with an opening scene that would cause anyone to keep turning the pages. STATE'S EVIDENCE will make the top sellers list because it's fast-paced, intriguing, satisfying, and I highly recommend it to you." -- Romance Reader At Heart

"STATE'S EVIDENCE, the new legal thriller by R. Barri Flowers, is a mixture of murder, mystery, madness and mayhem. The story was well-written and believable, and at times erotic. Flowers inflicted the characters with human flaws, among them the desire for love and revenge." -- RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

"Just when you think you have figured the plot out, R. Barri Flowers throws another curve. One of my suppositions did prove out but was clouded by the red herrings being thrown around... It was well worth the time taken to read it."-- Roundtable Reviews

" STATE'S EVIDENCE has a varied, multicultural cast of interesting characters, both good and evil.... Plot is clever and intriguing with unusual twists, with the suspense escalating rapidly." -- Romance Reviews Today

"An intriguing story of murder, madness and mayhem, with a slight blend of mystery. Flowers depicts believable characters in this suspenseful legal thriller." -- Romantic Times

"R. Barri Flowers has written an electrifying and enthralling legal thriller that will appeal to readers of Nancy Taylor Rosenberg and Barbara Parker. The courtroom scenes are very realistic and the heroine is someone readers will empathize with and admire as a role model for minorities and women. STATE'S EVIDENCE would make a great action packed movie." -- Harriet Klausner

REVIEWS OF PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE


"Compelling detective mystery." -- The Best Reviews

"A superb legal thriller."  -- Midwest Book Review

"Raw, primal, thrilling, incredibleone of the best books that I have read. I was completely riveted from the first page." -- Romance Reader at Heart

"It has all the aspects of a perfect mystery, and thankfully, it isn't so predictable you figure out what's going on." -- RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

"An excellent look at the jurisprudence system .... will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein." -- Harriet Klausner

"Interesting "whodunit" that kept me guessing until the end .... found the story to be quite engaging with all around solid pacing, plot and delivery." -- APOOO BookClub


"An absorbing legal thriller .... Flowers' forte lies in the vivid well-developed characters he creates. The interactions of his characters and the conflicts that arise serve to make the story a compelling page-turner." -- Romance In Color

"All the elements of a great mystery book, suspicions, red herrings, evidence and witnesses. If you are into mysteries, this would be the book for you." -- Romance Review


"A story that keeps you on the edge of your seat .... A page turning story I couldn't put down." -- Romance Junkies
REVIEWS OF JUSTICE SERVED


"A clever mystery with many suspects.... Vividly written, this book holds the reader's attention and speeds along." -- Romantic Times

"An A+ suspense/mystery with a touch of heartfelt romance.... Is not just simply compelling, it also activates reader's consciousness.... Powerful legal suspense is riveting." -- Fresh Fiction

"This author weaves a magical web, as well as, a tangled one [and] wraps up the mystery thriller beautifully .... Will be recommending this title to many!" -- Huntress' Book Reviews

"Justice Served is a model of crime fiction .... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices." -- Statesman Journal

"The magic behind R. Barri Flowers' terrific suspense thriller is that the serial killer is in plain sight as the clues are laid out for the audience to determine .... Fans of police procedural serial killer thrillers will want to read this fine tale while anxiously waiting to follow the next investigation." -- Harriet Klausner

"R. Barri Flowers has created a superb mystery .... There's just enough romance and romantic triangles to keep the interest going. It's a great book that any mystery lover will adore." -- RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

"This novel has lots of twists and turns and is a very fast read with believable characters and a very tense setting." -- Midwest Book Review
State's Evidence
Top of Page
Barri's Home Page
Barri's Bio Page
Mystery novels
True Crime Books
Criminology Books
Short Stories
Links
Barri's Videos
Young Adult Books
Barri's Home Page
Barri's Bio Page
Mystery novels
True Crime Books
Criminology Books
Short Stories
Links
Barri's Videos
Young Adult Books
Justice Served
Persuasive Evidence